Summer Berry Pancakes

As a parent, you learn very quickly to pick & choose your battles.  Some are worth standing your ground over & some just aren’t.  I have to pick & choose daily.  My one daughter is fairly easy going, agreeable & will often go along with whatever I suggest.  The other one, not so much.  She is very strong willed & knows exactly what she likes & wants & you needs to be a very good negotiator to get her to change her tune.  We negotiate what she is going to wear, what she is going to eat, almost everything really. Sometimes arguing over socks for twenty minutes can be downright exhausting, which is why I pick my battles.  Some days when we leave the house she is wearing the most outrageous outfits but letting her wear what she wanted was easier than fighting with her over it!Summer Berry -1416

This morning it was a battle over breakfast & I put my foot down.  She was not going to win this one, I was not making a second breakfast.  I had made scrambled eggs & toast.  She DID NOT WANT scrambled eggs & toast.  She wanted PANCAKES…. or CANCAKES as she calls them.  (For those of you who know my daughters, you know exactly which one I am talking about).  We were having a “picmic” (or picnic) on the deck (since it was a beautiful morning) & she was not impressed when I brought their breakfast out.  I went back inside to grab mine & by the time I returned, little miss not so happy, had thrown all of the eggs & toast from her plate onto the table & was pounding on the kitchen door yelling “I WANT CANCAKES!!”.  Her sister, who loves carbs, cleverly snatched the discarded toast & sat there silently munching away.

“Chocolate” I said, (my daughters have incidentally changed their names to Chocolate & Strawberry, but that is a whole other story) “we are having eggs & toast for breakfast, not pancakes.”

To be fair, I hadn’t given them a choice this morning as I usually do & just went ahead & made something.  Had I given them a choice, you can be sure pancakes would have been suggested.  But we can’t eat pancakes EVERY SINGLE MORNING & we had just eaten them a few days earlier.  Well, Chocolate didn’t like that answer, as you can well imagine & sobbed something about needing cancakes.  I then told her that we could compromise. Since Daddy was not going to be home for dinner (he doesn’t love pancakes for breakfast, let alone dinner), I suggested that we could have breakfast for dinner & have pancakes & sausages as long as she ate her eggs for breakfast.  Her crying stopped & you could see the wheels turning…. I had to help her eat her eggs, feeding her like an infant instead of the almost three year old that she is, but she ate those eggs!  The toast, of course, was long gone, sneaky sister having eaten it all.

So, I was committed to pancakes for dinner but that was better than giving in & making her pancakes for breakfast.  (Note to self: next time, make a double batch of pancakes & freeze them, for instances like this one!)  Honestly, I didn’t mind making pancakes for dinner.  It was quick & easy & didn’t require a lot of brain power (or the oven) on a hot day.  But I didn’t want to make just ordinary pancakes (I know, sometimes I am my own worst enemy)… quite often I add beet puree (yes beets) to make pink pancakes.  Make faces all you like but my girls request pink pancakes more often than not.  I didn’t have any beet puree thawed so I opened my spice cupboard to see what I could find.

Having recently launched my Epicure business there were some new spices & seasonings in my cupboard I had yet to try.  Front & center I found Summer Berry Dip Mix. Summer Berry -0957I read the label & decided yes, this would work.  The label suggested mixing it with Greek Yogurt for a healthy fruit dip & it does sound delicious – I will try that sometime soon.  The label also suggested adding it to pancakes & waffles.  Okay, done.  My girls love strawberries, so why not?  I would just tell the girls they were confetti pancakes or that they had polka dots (success or failure is often all in how you present things to little Miss Chocolate).

I used my go-to pancake recipe (one my family has used for years & one I have shared before), added a couple tablespoons of dip mix & voila, summer berry pancakes.

I love cooking by the seat of my pants & making things up as I go along & it’s one of the things that I love about Epicure products – the versatility.  Sure, every product has its intended use, but the possibilities are endless if you just use your imagination.

Turns out the girls loved the pancakes.  Served with some local fresh sliced strawberries (we LOVE strawberries) & breakfast sausage, we had a quick, easy supper that everyone loved.

It may not have been for breakfast but little Chocolate still got her pancakes.  And Mommy won at least one battle…

 

Leave a Reply

